Barbara Misselt announces retirement from ECRL

Barbara Misselt, who for nine years led the East Central Regional Library in providing library service to residents around the region, is retiring from her position as Library System Director effective April 1, 2017. The ECRL Board of Directors accepted her decision in November 2016.
“Thank you for the opportunity to lead this organization…,” Misselt wrote in her letter of retirement to the Board. “I appreciate the support and positive commitment of the Board as well as our partner counties and cities. I believe that ECRL is in a good position to continue positive growth with a competent leadership team and staff. I have enjoyed the relationships with staff and board team and have found this a fulfilling career.”
In the transition, the ECRL Board has appointed a five-member hiring committee for the new ECRL Executive Director. The post oversees a six-county consolidated public library system, operating 14 branches and outreach services, served by 80 staff (31 full-time), across east central Minnesota. The job posting can be found at
Review of applications begins January 18, 2017.
Misselt has offered her assistance in the transition, as she knows all about a leadership position that requires skills in financial, marketing and program development; staff and community relations; and technology development within a $3.1 million budget. She also knows that she will miss “all the people who have become partners and friends,” while she looks forward to retirement with “new adventures as well as increased family opportunities.”
Established in 1959, East Central Regional Library is the oldest multi-county library cooperative and one of 12 regional library systems in Minnesota. The ECRL mission is to strengthen communities by connecting people with resources, spaces, and educational experiences that enrich and empower their lives. ECRL includes libraries in Aitkin and McGregor (Aitkin County); Cambridge (Isanti County); Chisago Lakes, North Branch, Rush City and Wyoming (Chisago County); Hinckley, Pine City and Sandstone (Pine County); Milaca, Isle-Mille Lacs Lake and Princeton (Mille Lacs County); and Mora (Kanabec County).

Share this post: