News and Current Events

Databases:

Atomic Training: Online how-to training on common software and devices, including Microsoft Office, Adobe Creative Suite, Google Docs, and iPad. Each online training course is made up of short 1- to 3-minute video segments, helping you get the most out of the training. This learn-at-your-own-pace solution offers the flexibility to skip lessons you’re already familiar with and review lessons that prove more difficult. All training is online and on-demand, available anywhere with Internet access.**


Explora Explora Libraries: Full text of popular magazine and scholarly journal articles covering all subject areas including multimedia, primary source documents, and reference books. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source – Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases.*


MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier: Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more. This database also contains full text for more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of nearly 600,000 photos, maps and flags.*


Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center: Provides students with a balance of materials from all viewpoints on current issues, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books.*


ProQuest Newsstand Complete

ProQuest Global Newsstream: Articles from hundreds of newspapers including the Minneapolis Star Tribune, St. Paul Pioneer Press, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Barron’s, USA Today, and many more.*


Regional Business News

Regional Business News: Full-text articles for nearly 100 regional business publications.*


Student Resources in Context

Student Resources in Context: Designed for middle and high school students to help them with their homework and in-depth research assignments. It includes reference works, biographies, essays, overviews, primary works, images, and periodical articles.*


Universal Class: Lifelong learning courses in over 30 subject areas, many of which offer continuing education units (CEUs). More than 500 courses are available, and all are designed and led by professional instructors to build deeper understanding and mastery of subject matter. Universal Class includes videos, assignments, quizzes, tests, and options for social media interaction with other learners. Take multiple classes, video-audit a course, learn at your own pace— flexible learning for you!


Selected Websites:


*Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM).
**Subscription purchased by East Central Regional Library.