Science and Math

Databases

Academic Search Premier: Indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals in a wide variety of disciplines, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. *


Atomic Training: Online how-to training on common software and devices, including Microsoft Office, Adobe Creative Suite, Google Docs, and iPad. Each online training course is made up of short 1- to 3-minute video segments, helping you get the most out of the training. This learn-at-your-own-pace solution offers the flexibility to skip lessons you’re already familiar with and review lessons that prove more difficult. All training is online and on-demand, available anywhere with Internet access.**


Britannica Library: Encyclopedia content for all ages plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, quotations, and primary sources.*


Expanded Academic ASAP: Scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers in the areas of art, humanities, social sciences, science, and technology.*

 


Explora Libraries: Full text of popular magazine and scholarly journal articles covering all subject areas including multimedia, primary source documents, and reference books. Includes Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, MasterFILE Premier, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source – Consumer Edition, and Science Reference Center databases.*


 General Science Collection: Articles from the most popular scientific journals (200+), providing researchers with information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.*


Kids InfoBits: Gives children easy access to magazines, reference books, and newspaper articles that have been selected just for their age group. Aimed at grades K-5.*


MasterFILE Premier: Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and more. This database also contains full text for more than 500 reference books, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of nearly 600,000 photos, maps and flags.*


Research in Context: Created for middle-schoolers, combining the best reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history. *


Science Reference Center: Access to full-text science oriented content.  Correlated to state and national curriculum standards.*


Universal Class: Lifelong learning courses in over 30 subject areas, many of which offer continuing education units (CEUs). More than 500 courses are available, and all are designed and led by professional instructors to build deeper understanding and mastery of subject matter. Universal Class includes videos, assignments, quizzes, tests, and options for social media interaction with other learners. Take multiple classes, video-audit a course, learn at your own pace— flexible learning for you!**


Selected Websites

  • Convert It — Currencies, miles, kilometers, gallons, liters, temperature, and more
  • Good Calculators– This website provides a variety of online calculators, such as physics, maths and statistics, engineering and conversion calculators.
  • Merck Veterinary Manual — Animal health information suitable for veterinarians and pet-owners.
  • National Weather Service – Warnings & forecasts; maps; links to radar, climate, information center
  • Weather Underground — Weather for any city, state, or country; also historical weather data.

*Subscription purchased by Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM).
**Subscription purchased by East Central Regional Library.