Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society

Minnesota residents now have access to a trove of historic periodicals collected by The American Antiquarian Society.

The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals held by American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America’s people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction.

(more…)

New content added to LearningExpress Library

LearningExpress Library has recently added some new content including eBooks, tutorials, and practice tests!

The Job & Career Accelerator now includes a Graduate School Finder which can help college students locate graduate programs around the country specializing in specific subjects.

Many new occupational and entrance practice exams are included in the Career Center like the PSI and Pearson Vue Real Estate exams, the ASWB Social Worker exam, Pharmacy Tech exam, and Certified Medical Assistant exams.

For success in high school you can now find tutorials on succeeding in online classes, the basics of debt, and even a tutorial on information literacy.

Many tests included in LearningExpress Library have recently been revised to meet new 2017 specifications like the TASC, military flight, and officer candidate tests.

Remember that all tests, tutorials, and eBooks you access while in LearningExpress Library will automatically be saved to your account for future access.


*Database access available courtesy of Electronic Library for Minnesota (ELM).

Introducing Universal Class and Atomic Training!

East Central Regional Library Launches Continuing Education Courses and Online Software Training 

You asked, we answered!  East Central Regional Library is thrilled to introduce two new essential online resources for lifelong learners.

Beginning July 1st, Universal Class, an online continuing education service, and Atomic Training, a comprehensive online database of how-to training tutorials covering popular software programs, are available for East Central Regional Library residents with their library card.

 

Universal Class: Through the library’s website, ECRL patrons have access to lifelong learning courses in over 30 subject areas, many of which offer continuing education units (CEUs). More than 500 courses are available, and all are designed and led by professional instructors to build deeper understanding and mastery of subject matter. Universal Class includes videos, assignments, quizzes, tests, and options for social media interaction with other learners. You may take multiple classes and learn at your own pace.

From courses on digital photography to babysitting 101, a huge range of topics is available. Universal Class offers courses in Exercise and Fitness, Entrepreneurship, Arts and Music, Home and Garden Care, Cooking, Computers and Technology, Health and Medicine, Homeschooling, Job Assistance, Law and Legal, Parenting and Family, Pet and Animal Care, plus hundreds more. You can even take Canoeing 101!

 

NOTE: Atomic Training is now Hoonuit.

Atomic Training is a comprehensive online database of how-to training tutorials covering popular Microsoft, Apple, Adobe and Google software programs.  ECRL patrons will have unlimited access to these videos in the library or anywhere with an internet connection. With in-depth software training tutorials to fit users’ needs, these videos help all ages improve job skills and become more proficient in basic computer applications. Mobile device training is also available, allowing you to learn how to get the most out of your smartphones and tablets.

 

Where do I start? Not sure which one to try first? Universal Class is great if you want to really dig deep into a topic and “study.”  Atomic Training is intended for on-the-spot training at the point-of-need, because you “just can’t remember that Excel formula.” ECRL believes these databases complement each other well to meet a broad range of information needs.

Get started now!  Please see your local ECRL staff member for more information or Ask a Librarian.